Review: My Fair Princess by Vanessa Kelly

28109694

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

My Fair Princess by Vanessa Kelly

My Rating: ❤❤❤❤

Spice Level: 💋💋💋💋

Buy Links

Amazon – Barnes & Noble – Kobo – Google Play

Blurb

Despite being the illegitimate daughter of a prince, Gillian Dryden is happily ignorant of all social graces. After growing up wild in Italy, Gillian has been ordered home to England to find a suitable husband. And Charles Valentine Penley, the excessively proper, distractingly handsome Duke of Leverton, has agreed to help transform her from a willful tomboy to a blushing debutante.

Powerful and sophisticated, Charles can make or break reputations with a well-placed word. But his new protégée, with her habit of hunting bandits and punching earls, is a walking scandal. The ton is aghast . . . but Charles is thoroughly intrigued. Tasked with taking the hoyden in hand, he longs to take her in his arms instead. Can such an outrageous attraction possibly lead to a fairytale ending?

My Review

I received a copy via NetGalley

This book sucks you in from the first page. As soon as I started reading and realized what she was doing I was hooked. Charles and Gillian are total opposites and it is funny to watch them interact, but also sweet. They fight and drive each other nuts, but they enjoy it most of the time. There was a small mystery when it came to the smugglers and I went back and forth about who I believed was involved and if they were involved or not.

I wanted Gillian as a friend! I completely understood her and loved her attitude about gossip. She didn’t let being the illegitimate child of a prince stand in her way and she didn’t hide from it. She is protective of her family and friends. When she stood up for her mother and friends in the ballroom I cheered. She may have seemed selfish, but she actually thought about others most of the time. Plus who doesn’t love a heroine that carries weapons?

Charles comes off as perfect, but not in a way that would put you off. He doesn’t flaunt his title unless needed and he is not stuck up at all but is always proper. He cares about his family more than himself. He can shock you at times with things he says and does especially around his sister and when no one is around to hear him. He will put someone in their place when needed and in public too.

I loved Charles’s sister and wanted to know the rest of his family. The same for Gillian’s family because of her mother who is just so sweet.

*I received a copy from the author and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*

One thought on “Review: My Fair Princess by Vanessa Kelly

Leave a Reply

