Writing For NaNoWriMo!

 

 

shield-nano-side-blue-brown-rgb-hires
Image courtesy of National Novel Writing Month.

 

The title says it all. I have taken the plunge and decided to participate in NaNoWriMo! I am using to hopefully get close to finishing or actually finish the book, but I’m not following strict daily word counts instead I have set an overall goal for the month.

 

My reason for this are:

1. I would get stuck on that number and panic.

2. My mind is faster than my typing (I am a fast typer). But because I am playing out things in my mind it takes longer to type it all out like it is in my head.

3. I can’t always write every day but when I do write I set a timer and see how much I get done in that time.

I decided to do this have taken a break from writing and so far it has been fun and a great experience so far. Doing the sprints has helped me with writing more and a bit faster and I soon will hit my first goal of 10K words typed (I will be celebrating on Instagram when it happens). Just the other night I wrote over a whole page where before I would be on the same page for days and I have NaNoWriMo to thank for that!

I even gave my story its first blurb and understand why many writers don’t like doing it. It is harder that it looks and I’m sure mine will change as I get closer to finishing. But I did think it would be fun to share it with you all since it is on my profile. I don’t that I even have shared my title with you because I’m not sure if I will be keeping it or not right now.

Blurb for The Shadow of the Gun

Clint Rockwell had only been back in town for a short time when a tragic accident that he blamed himself for sent him back into the mountains. He left his love behind and swore never to wear a gun again, but when the man that started it all comes back spreading lies he puts his gun back on to protect the girl he left behind.

Elinor Marshall was left heartbroken when the man she loved left her behind blaming himself for the accident that took her brother. she has told herself to hate him, but he still holds her heart and when he returns it awakens her heart. But the man that she blames for everything still haunts her at every turn and would do anything to have her as his. Will the return of her love save her or has he forgotten about her.

Will a shooting competition and revenge bring them back together or will their pasts keep them apart when secrets are revealed?

 

3 thoughts on “Writing For NaNoWriMo!

  1. Hello Kelly, hope your NaNoWriMo journey is going well! Your synopsis for The Shadow of the Gun is intriguing and hints at a great level of suspense. Clint and Elinor both sound like well rounded characters. I look forward to reading more!

    Also, if you are interested I have my synopsis for my NaNoWriMo novel, Stalder Press to Handstand, up on my blog. I would love to hear your thoughts and feedback 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

