Long Overdue Writing Update

Writing Update

I know it’s been a long time since I posted a writing update and I slapped my hand and said bad writer to myself, lol. Things got hectic around my house with different work schedules, changes, and not being able to find time to write (again I slapped my hand). Part of the problem was I got into a bit of a writer’s block with not knowing if I liked where my hero and heroine going or if I wanted to change what I had them doing. Another thing was I had a lot of blog work to do with reviews and tours so I put writing on the backburner for a bit. But I’m back to it!

Did I decide to change what I had my hero and heroine doing?

Yes, I did and I now will be rewriting a small section. Better now than later when I might have to change multiple things to work with this change. I think this will help with the writer’s block since I was fighting with the characters on what to do.

What have I learned from this?

Finding other writers to talk things over is great. I’m apart of a couple of facebook groups that are for writing but my favorite is ran by an author and mostly the historical genre. I also have learned to find someone that will let to talk about your writing without judging. For me, it is my brother who is also a book lover even though he reads a totally different genre he will listen to me. I can run different things by him and he will help me figure out what sounds better.

Anything else?

If you have followed me for awhile then you know that I pretty much only read historical romances. I realized when going through some old stuff that as a teenager I wrote some romance stories that were contemporary westerns. I got to thinking about it and I could clean them up and they would be great stories so I’m toying with the idea of working on them too. I know many authors write in different genres.

Leave a Reply

