Review: The Pursuit of Pleasure (Dartmouth Brides #1) by Elizabeth Essex

*This post contains affiliate links which mean I may earn a small commission if you buy a book through my link. There is no extra charge and I use these funds to feed my book addiction and keep my dog in sweaters. I only post links for books I love.*

34499963

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

The Pursuit of Pleasure by Elizabeth Essex

My Rating: ❤❤❤❤❤

Spice Level: 💋💋💋💋

Buy Links

Amazon – Barnes & Noble – Kobo

Blurb

SHE DOES SAY SHE’LL NEVER MARRY…
Miss Elizabeth Paxton is a new sort of heiress–educated, opinionated and entirely independent. The last thing she wants is a husband mucking about her life. Even if he is the only man she’s ever loved.

BUT SHE HAS ALWAYS WANTED TO BE A WIDOW.
When dashing Captain Jameson Marlowe returns to Dartmouth, he proposes to give Lizzie exactly what she wants–a marriage without the man. After one night of searing passion, his sworn duty will take him far off to sea…or so she thinks until secrets and lies set a collision course with the smugglers along the south coast, and Lizzie is caught in the dark tide of treason. Can she salvage her pride and learn to trust in true love before it’s too late?
—-
The Pursuit of Pleasure was originally published in 2010. This new edition has been revised and reedited. This book was a 2009 Golden Heart finalist with the Romance Writers of America.

My Review

*I received a copy via NetGalley.

Another up until 2 AM read! This one is steamy and will give you chills for many reasons. I love a story with smugglers, secrets, and a bit of mystery. You will be hooked from the start like I was because you know right away how they will be with each other. I had my suspicions from the start about who was involved in the smuggling and was partially right. Some favorites include her a shooting and the twists surrounding everything. The ending was perfect.

Lizzie is definitely opinionated, educated and voices her thoughts to anyone. She comes off as a wild child many times, but also is very stubborn and doesn’t always think thing through. I did love her for fighting things she believed in and her struggle to be true to herself.

Jamie (Jameson) convinced himself that everything was apart of his plan and nothing else, but from the start, you know the truth. I loved him right away because he had a hint of mystery to him and also spoke his mind. He is on a mission that isn’t quite going to plan in many ways.

I highly recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

