Random Friday: My Favorite Historical Shows and Why I Love Them

Add heading

This week I am talking about my favorite historical shows and why I love them. These shows are all in different time periods and it’s not just the good looking men in the shows (but that does help 😉 ). They are in no particular order because I could never put them in order of how much I like them. You will notice a trend of books inspiring shows and a trend in the settings.

Outlander 

I love Outlander because it has so much history in it. You can learn a ton just by watching the show and it makes you want to research thing on your own. Another thing I love is the costumes and how accurate they are in every way.  Normally I don’t like time travel, but this one is addictive and it all meshes perfectly. There are small differences between the books and show, but they are understandable changes and for tv, they make sense for flow.

The first time I saw it was after season one had aired and we had just gotten Starz. I decided to watch it and see what the hype was about and ended up watching the whole season in a week. I was glued from episode one and then I had to buy the books and read the first four before season two aired.

When Calls the Heart

This is a Hallmark channel show that I was drawn to because it is technically a western but set in Canada in the early 1900’s. I love the storylines and the romances (especially one that finally had something I have been waiting forever happen). The costumes and a few other things aren’t very accurate, but they are gorgeous costumes and the other things aren’t too far off for me. They show has handled some topics recently that I am happy to see.

I have watched it from the start because they are inspired by Janette Oak’s books (loved the Love Comes Softly movies) and because Michal Landon jr (a favorite person in the film and tv industry) is involved with the show. It’s a show you can watch with everyone in your house and not be shocked are embarrassed by scenes.

Poldark

This one has so much drama going on that it pulls you in. I love that it’s set and filmed in Cornwall and the drama with every character. Every season covers a couple of books in the series they are based on, but they are short seasons so things move fast. This one does have some pretty accurate costumes and shows how things were at that time in the mines and some of the crimes. They have said there are small changes from the books, but they say the way things are written in the books leave it up to the reader to decide how they see things.

I couldn’t wait for this one to start after seeing the preview for it. I haven’t read the books yet (the prices for even ebooks is high) but hope to one day to see what isn’t in the show. It’s one of those that if you blink you might miss something, but you become invested in the characters.

Call The Midwife

This one is more modern because it starts in the 1950’s, but it is important historically. It covers so many important topics from medical discoveries to women’s issues during that time. This is one doesn’t seem like a tv show when it comes to certain scenes and they don’t sugar coat things. You see the good and the bad of everything and it’s highly accurate in everything.

I didn’t discover it until last year coming across it on Facebook. I’m a few seasons behind and need to watch the ones I missed, but it pulled me in without knowing anything about it.

The Musketeers 

The name tells you right away that it’s about the three musketeers (even though there were more). It’s not accurate with the timeline of events (actors leaving and other things caused changes), but the action, drama, and costumes (not always accurate) are amazing. This one does cause you to want to learn about the time and historical figures on the show. You will want to pick your favorite musketeer.

It was a BBC show and I watched it from the start because I love the stories surrounding the real musketeers and when it started there weren’t many historicals to pick from. I was heartbroken to see it end last year.

 

Have you watched any of these shows? Do you have any to recommend? Leave a comment and let’s talk about it.

3 thoughts on “Random Friday: My Favorite Historical Shows and Why I Love Them

Leave a Reply

