Review: Gray Places by Julia Byrd

*This post contains affiliate links which mean I may earn a small commission if you buy a book through my link. There is no extra charge and I use these funds to feed my book addiction and keep my dog in sweaters. I only post links for books I love.*

34803585

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Gray Places by Julia Byrd

My Rating: ❤❤❤❤❤

Spice Level: 💋

Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Blurb

1790s Yorkshire, England – Katherine Gilbert sets out for Wainforth Manor in North Yorkshire to fulfill her father’s last request. The master of Wainforth, Thomas Norcliffe, does not welcome her unannounced arrival, so Katherine must tread carefully around his dark moods while attempting to unlock the history buried in his ancestral home.

After she receives more than one whispered warning from the townspeople in Wainforth Village, Katherine’s initial audacity begins to waver. Deadly secrets from the Norcliffe family’s past are resurfacing, and Katherine begins to realize that the biggest danger lies within herself—the wisest course is to leave, but she wants to stay at Wainforth Manor and uncover the truth about Thomas Norcliffe.

My Review

*I received a copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.

One of my favorite types of romance is gothic suspense and this one is now a favorite! It gave me chills and that’s what I want from a story like this. Every time something was revealed no matter how small it was shocking because I did not see it coming. The big secret and the reason for it are terrifying but explain so much. The romance isn’t completely front and center, but I don’t mind it with stories like this one. When I got to the end I wanted more.

Katherine is someone that when she sets her mind to do it then look out. I loved her from the start because she boldly showed up at the house and didn’t run at the sign of something was wrong. She could stand her ground and fight if needed.

Thomas is complicated and runs hot and cold but for good reasons. He guards his heart and those around him because of the past and it can break your heart. You have to get to know him throughout the book to love and understand him. When he lets his guard down he really does.

Leave a Reply

