Review: Love Letters to a Victorian Spy (Spy Series) by Patricia Catacalos

*This post contains affiliate links which mean I may earn a small commission if you buy a book through my link. There is no extra charge and I use these funds to feed my book addiction and keep my dog in sweaters. I only post links for books I love.*

love letters cover final

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Love Letters to a Victorian Spy by Patricia Catacalos

My Rating: ❤❤❤❤❤

Spice Level: 💋💋💋

Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords

Blurb

England – 1865…Colin Layton, Viscount Evanston, is the spy ‘Fox’ who must ferret out a double-agent working with the Prussians searching for a ledger, containing the names of British operatives, which has gone missing. Colin must also determine who is writing ‘love letters’ to him. Are the letters taunts suggesting that someone knows he is a spy or were they truly written by a secret admirer?

My Review

* I was gifted a copy by the author in exchange for my honest review.

AMAZING! The blurb does not do this book justice to how amazing the mystery is. I loved how everything intertwined so there is a good amount of romance and mystery. I had my suspicions about who was sending the letters but was not sure until it was revealed because of twists. The identity of Raven was a total surprise that I didn’t see coming and so was Peacock’s because I couldn’t even begin to figure it out. I love the matchmaking going on and the chemistry between them from the start. People that I guessed were involved were not and that makes for a great mystery. It does end on a cliffhanger but in a good way so that the mystery continues, but things are wrapped up in this one too.

Eliza is a woman that has no wish to marry again. I loved her from the start because she was open and honest when talking to anyone. She had a bit of a temper, but she was quick to realize when she was wrong. I loved what she did in the end to get his attention.

Colin has a reputation that is perfect for a spy. He is a charmer and even if he’s just being nice you still love him. I loved that he tried to protect everyone and that he wasn’t always the proper hide your emotions persons. He has a bit of a temper too, but it works for him.

This is going on my all-time favorites list and I highly recommend if you love a good mystery like I do.

Leave a Reply

